BCCI Announces Fixtures For Home Series Against Australia Which Begins February 24

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has confirmed the schedule for the fixtures that starts with the T20I series followed by the ODI series.

The third ODI will take place at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi on March 8.

India and Australia will play their first ODI on January 12 in Sydney and coincidentally, Allan Border's Australia and Kapil Dev's India had also played their first one-day global at Brisbane on the same date back in 1986. The two T20Is will be played in Bengaluru (24 February) and Visakhapatnam (27 February), announced BCCI on Thursday, 10 January. Nagpur will host the second ODI on March 5 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium.

Both T20Is will be night matches starting at 7 pm IST, and all five ODIs day-night games starting at 1.30 pm.

The series will commence shortly after team India wrapping up the New Zealand tour, which is slated to be followed by ongoing series in Australia.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy just culminated into a 2-1 victory for India, where India won the Test matches in Adelaide and Melbourne. They would again lock horns with the Aussies, this time in a home T20I and ODI series from the last week of February.

Australia's 2019 visit to Indian shores will comprise the fourth bilateral limited-overs series between these two teams in the last three years. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who was the joint highest wicket taker in the Test series with 21 wickets, has been rested for the ODIs. On Wednesday, Dhoni, Dhawan, Jadhav and Rayudu were seen practising ahead of the first ODI.