Squads announced for Women's T20 Challenge game

  • Squads announced for Women's T20 Challenge game

Squads announced for Women's T20 Challenge game

Top global stars like Australians Alyssa Healy and Meg Lanning will be seen in action in the upcoming one-off Women's T20 Challenge match to be played on May 22 ahead of the IPL Qualifier 1 in Mumbai.

Two teams, led by young Indian stars Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur, will be have 20 Indian players while 10 will be overseas players.

The T20 match will feature 26 players including 10 global stars from England, Australia and New Zealand. We were in talks with several Boards and I am pleased with the outcome.

Diana Edulji, former India women's captain and a CoA member, has been pressing for a women's IPL. New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates, attacking batter Sophie Devine, who holds the record for fastest half-century in T20Is, Australia's all-rounder Ellyse Perry, wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have confirmed their participation.

Shedding more light on the objective of the match, for presenting a canvas for Women's T20 tournament in India, CoA chairman Vinod Rai stated, "This is being staged as a well-deserved exhibition to showcase the tremendous depth and capability that women's cricket in India has achieved". The two teams will lock horns in a challenge match ahead of the first IPL qualifier on May 22 at the Wankhede Stadium.

The IPL is the biggest and most popular league in the world and it has been a long-time endeavour to have a women's league that can match the exuberance of IPL. "It just shows that the women's game is on the up", she added.