BJP CM candidate Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka chief minister

  • BJP CM candidate Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka chief minister

BJP CM candidate Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka chief minister

A special bench comprising Justices A K Sikri, S A Bobde and Ashok Bhushan directed the Centre to place before it two communications, sent by Yeddyurappa to Governor Vajubhai Vala in which he had staked claim to form the government, saying their perusal was necessary to decide the case. Legislative Party leader and CM hopeful HD Kumaraswamy levelled more allegations against the BJP, claiming that the party was using central agencies like the Enforcement Directorate, the CBI and Income Tax Department to intimidate and poach MLAs from the Congress and the JD (S). At 1.15 AM, Supreme Court has made a decision to hear the Congress petition in the wee hours.

Earlier on Thursday, the Supreme Court refused to stay Yeddyurappa's swearing-in as Karnataka Chief Minister after a rare pre-dawn hearing which saw the Congress-JD (S) combine making a last-ditch attempt to stall the saffron party's surge in the southern state.

The hearing commenced at 2.20 a.m. and concluded with the court passing order at 5.30 in the morning. While the BJP emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats, the Congress and JD (S) bagged 78 and 37 seats respectively. Slamming the protests by the Congress leaders, BJP's Kumar said, "If Congress wants to protest, they should protest against Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi & Siddaramaiah, as this trio has ruined the Congress". It remains to be seen whether Jethmalani, who had announced his retirement from the legal profession previous year, would be permitted to appear before the bench of Justices Sikri, Bobde and Bhushan on Friday (May 18) when it resumes hearing the petition filed by the Congress challenging Governor Vala's decision. Attorney General KK Venugopal, ASG Maninder Singh in court for hearing. He reminded that then SC had upheld government formation by BJP and asked to form the same norm now.

 It also issued notices to the Karnataka government and Yeddyurappa as it was clarified by senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi that he was appearing for three BJP MLAs - Govind M Karjol, C M Udasi and Basavaraj Bommai. During the previous elections in 2013, when the state voted for the Congress, the BJP came to power at the Centre a year later. Considering protests, forces have been deployed to ensure the swearing-in ceremony smoothly.