WhatsApp adds new feature to retrieve deleted media; here's how it works

  • WhatsApp adds new feature to retrieve deleted media; here's how it works

WhatsApp adds new feature to retrieve deleted media; here's how it works

As per recent leaks, Whatsapp latest beta version (2.18.113) on Android is packed with the new feature where the user can Request Money from contacts and UPI addresses. At present, if users delete media including photos, GIFs, and videos from their phone they can not re-download the same on WhatsApp again. The report also claimed that this new feature was introduced for Android users between version 2.18.106 and 2.18.110. When you download the files, the same was deleted from the servers. The chat app now does not delete the files from its servers even after it is downloaded and this allows user to recover it even if it has been deleted.

In a related development, WhatsApp is testing a new feature which would allow users to customize the shape and size of the WhatsApp icon on the home screen.

Earlier, whenever the user received files such as images, GIFs and short clips, WhatsApp used to store them on its server (for 30 days) till the time they were downloaded by the user.

How to retrieve deleted media content on WhatsApp?

" Only if the file has been deleted in sdcard/WhatsApp/ and you have the message in the chat, you can successfully download it again", says the report.

If you're on the latest WhatsApp version (as specified above), you can start using the "WhatsApp Payment" after accepting the WhatsApp's terms and conditions.

WhatsApp on Android will let users re-download old media messages, including videos and images that might have been deleted from the user's mobile storage.

WhatsApp also posted a new FAQ (frequently asked questions) to clarify the use of end-to-end encryption for messages sent to a business via WhatsApp.

It is worth noting that if you delete a media file from the folder in your smartphone, you need to have the message where the sender sent you the specific file, in order to be able to download it again. It has made a decision to store all the messages and multimedia content on its server even if it is downloaded by the user.