Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields Narayan Rane, Rahatkar

  • Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields Narayan Rane, Rahatkar

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields Narayan Rane, Rahatkar

Interestingly, former Rajya Sabha member from Samajwadi Party Naresh Agarwal, who shifted loyalties to BJP earlier in the day on Monday, has openly declared that his son Nitin Agarwal will cross-vote in favour of BJP.

Congress President approved the list for the the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls.

The candidates include including former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane, BJP General Secretary Saroj Pandey who will contest from Chhattisgarh, the party's Media Cell Convenor Anil Baluni from Uttarakhand, and Lt General DP Vats (retd) from Haryana.

Union social justice and empowerment minister Thawar Chand Gehlot said that his selection as nominee for Rajya Sabha seat shows that he is giving 100 percent to his work.

Meanwhile, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leaders Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim have also filed nomination papers for Rajya Sabha in Patna.

Syed Naseer Hussain, L Hanumanthaiah and G C Chandrashekar will be contesting from Karnataka. Voting, if needed, will be held on 23 March.

The other distinguishing features of the Rajya Sabha nominations from Bihar this year are that there are no "outsider" candidates and no Dalit or backward caste candidate.

With Congress fielding a Vokkaliga leader, the JD (S) will have the hard choice of backing its own candidate or voting for a Vokkaliga, its main support base. However, the fight will be between the third candidate of the Congress and JDS's Farooq.

The Congress has named Babu Prasad as the UDF opposition candidate from Kerala.

Since no other candidate is expected to file nomination, formal announcement of unopposed election of candidates is likely to be made on March 15 after the deadline for withdrawal of candidature ends.

The Congress nominations to the upper house on Sunday follows the same line, analysts and senior party leaders say. However, it is said that Rathwa, hailing from Chhotaudepur, a tribal belt, was assured Rajya Sabha ticket during 2017 assembly elections.

His name was proposed by 40 MLAs - 20 each from the Congress and the TMC.