WhatsApp extends message deletion window beyond an hour

  • WhatsApp extends message deletion window beyond an hour

WhatsApp extends message deletion window beyond an hour

"A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore".

WhatsApp had recently rolled out a feature "Delete for Everyone" that allowed users to call back their sent messages but only under a restricted time limit of 512 seconds. According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp's "Block revoke request" feature will quietly add some protection to prevent misuse of the "Delete for Everyone" feature.

Now, the company is testing a new feature, which would allow users to customize the shape and size of the WhatsApp icon on the home screen.

Users originally only had 8 minutes and 32 seconds (512 seconds) to reconsider their actions, but in the last week the company has chose to increase the limit to 4096 seconds, that is around 1 hour 8 minutes.

In fact, on New Year's Eve, WhatsApp set a new record with 75 billion messages sent on that day alone.

Curently only WhatsApp Android beta testers can make use of the the extended deadline for "Delete for Everyone" feature.

We're still waiting for official confirmation from WhatsApp, but it looks like if you've said something you'd rather not have said, or posted an embarrassing confession in the wrong group that, you're about to get more time to recall it.

What's more, if you do delete a message, the other people in the conversation see a "message deleted" alert - so they know that you've said something you've regretted, and may ask you some awkward questions about it. In new versions of the app, the messaging service will limit the revoke request to 24 hours, and also check the date of the message along with the ID before applying "Delete for everyone".

If you've sent something by mistake don't forget you can quickly delete it.